Update: 2020 Maine Cheese Festival Canceled

The Board of the Maine Cheese Guild came to the difficult decision to cancel our Annual Maine Cheese Festival for 2020 at Savage Oakes Winery in Union. The safety and well being of our community and customers is our highest priority. It does not feel right to be putting our time and energy into organizing a widely attended event where the focus is on sampling and eating cheese in large groups. The annual festival and the opportunity to share Maine Cheese with our community is our biggest yearly event and we look forward to coming back in 2021 to highlight all of the ways our community has come together. Since the Maine Cheese Festival is our largest source of funding for the Maine Cheese Guild, we are committed to finding other ways to promote Maine cheese and raising the funds we need to support the work of the Maine Cheese Guild

These are very uncertain times for all of us. Our cheesemakers have been heavily impacted by the closure of restaurants, hotels, small retail shops, and changes to farmers’ markets. We are grateful to all of our individual customers who have continued to seek out Maine cheese and offered us so much support. Milk is still flowing in Maine and cheese is still being made, and we still need your help.

Please head over to the Maine Cheese Guild website and look at the creamery finder to source your favorite Maine cheese and to try some new ones. Many creameries are offering contactless deliveries, online purchasing, and the opportunity to get the freshest, best made cheese right from the farm. We also ask, in spite of everything, you continue your support of the Maine Cheese Guild by renewing your membership today.

We are more invested than ever in our mission to encourage and support the Maine cheesemaking community through education, coordinated resources, and the promotion of our regional cheeses.

Be well, eat well, eat Maine cheese

The Maine Cheese Guild Board
Jessie Dowling, Holly Aker, Dorothee Grimm, Heather Donahue, Ann Bossi, Caitlin Hunter, Jean Koons, Eric Rector, Mark Whitney, and Sarah Spring